Dropdown List: multi-level hierarchy

Hi Everyone,

I’m evaluating Anvil (my background is Dundas BI/Dashboard) and am trying to build a multi-level hierarchy with multi-select (only at the same level).

All of our data is on-premise and so the hierarchy structure will need to be formed by SQL Server uplink code. I do have the uplink part working already and the code to form the hierarchy, from a previous Dundas project.

As an example, just think of a large corporate with city offices in countries: so level 0 would be “Country” and level 1 the office city “Locations”.

After select, I’ll need to send a hierarchy level and then a string of either city or country ids (depends on the level you made the selection) to my SQL Server SPs as a filter for subsequent querying. I can see this is kind of how the dropdown list box works right now, with id and name pairs.

Just wondering if anyone has worked on this kind of issue before?

Regards, Greg.

Hi @greg.bull, welcome to the forum.

Am I right in saying you want to:

• create a UI with dropdown lists.
  • The selection will result in a server call.
  • The server call (through uplink) will run an SQL query to your database
  • Then present it to that data to the user?

This was a nice recent example from the forum that might showcase something similar:

Polymorphic ecosystem view for charities, nonprofits, etc

On the front end you could have your dropdown lists and then a Button component.
the button click event could then call the server function sending the arguments country and location.

The return value from the server call could be the rows from the database that you could then use to populate your UI.

Here are some relevant anvil tutorials that might give more insight.

Anvil | Building a Web App with an External Database

Anvil | Dashboards

Anvil | Data Grids: Displaying Data In Tables

Let us know what else you need…