More designer control properties and options

Perhaps I am still new to Anvil in general, but to me, it seems like the whole “You don’t need to know html/css to use Anvil” is used very loosely.

From the few hours I spent trying to put together a decent app, it seems like you really do need to know HTML/CSS if you want to accomplish a decent looking app, even some very “simple” things.

It would be nice if there are even more designer properties and control options for designing the UI.
For example, anchors, and such, similar to Visual Studio Designer

• I was trying to set the background image of the form. The form doesn’t have any properties for this, so you add a panel/container/card, then you add the image control… → CSS
  • I wanted to add a simple “box” in the center of the screen/page. Okay so I add an outline card. The card is centered horizontally, but not vertically. There is no designer way to center this item from what I can see. —> CSS

I have more to add but it would just seem like a list of complaints haha.
Please someone correct me if I’m wrong, but it seems like the main purpose and use of Anvil is for creating small internal apps quickly, not really meant for a scalable production level business app.

I’ve checked the forum and it doesn’t seem like there is a good example of any website or company using Anvil to such a high level.

Sorry for the long post. Would be nice to have more control over the UI through the UI designer instead of depending on CSS

2 Likes

Anvil philosophy is "You don’t need to know html/css to use Anvil” to make a working , not to make a perfectly looking to your liking app.

You don’t need, but if you want to play with css, then the door is open. Knock yourself out and do whatever you like.