Are there some basic components missing?

I am new to Anvil, but I really like what I have seen so far. However, I am a bit curious whether there are a few basic widgets or components missing. For example progress bars and sliders, aren’t such things need-to-haves in an UI framework?

I am aware of the Anvil-Extras project, but why aren’t these components not part of Anvil itself?

1 Like

At a guess, “why have a dog and bark yourself?”

Which makes me a dog, I suppose.

1 Like

It depends on the needs of the app. I haven’t used them (or missed them) in mine.

Of course, not every widget is required in every app. But if I think of any major UI framework (both web and client), there is some kind of “basic widgets” all these frameworks support out of the box. I don’t want to rant here, just interested to know whether there is a special reason for these missing widgets …

2 Likes

Anvil is so much more than a UI framework, it may not be an apt comparison in the first place.

Should UI frameworks be faulted for “missing” a complete IDE, cloud-based server architecture, and database implementation, as part of the framework? (I’ve left out a lot that Anvil provides out-of-the box.)

Edit: But to be fair, only Anvil’s architects are equipped to answer your question.

1 Like

I agree with @p.colbert that Anvil is so much more. I also think that the purpose of Anvil Extras is to make more UI components that basic Anvil doesn’t have – and the staff doesn’t have time to implement – that the community wants. I don’t think that’s a problem IMHO – every major framework usually has a plethora of packages to work.

I think things like Anvil Extras and the Anvil Firestore integration are great signs of Anvil’s health because it shows the community’s buy in to the platform.

It’s also possible to use any third party front end tool set, and connect to Anvil HTTP endpoint functions.

1 Like

I agree with @mfb.