Nursing Career Tool

Hey all,
I’m an ICU nurse in the US who also happens to tinker around, and some time ago learned python to a moderate level. You wouldn’t really know this unless you were part of the medical field, but our profession is undergoing some radical changes for the worse, brought on by hospitals cutting every possible resource they can away from medical staff to maintain the profit bases they need. It’s kinda been the stereotype to hear that CEO’s continue to make big bonuses while workers suffer, but what if those workers were the ones directly responsible for titrating your lifesaving drips, or operating your ventilator?

I worked the COVID ICU and got to see firsthand how separate management is from the bedside experience, and as such realized that nurses, compared to many other professional careers, have almost zero information about jobs. Hospitals don’t share pay data unless it’s at the final interview. There aren’t sites that exist which let nurses write reviews, share pay data, compare cost of living data.

Because of this lack of data, hospitals who consistently ignore staff issues can still rely on hiring new graduates by the hordes to replace the browbeaten staff they’ve essentially abused for years. No one will build a tool like this because hospitals are the ones that pay for advertising on job boards, so the incentive is to always submit to hospital demands.

This is why I appreciate Anvil so much. The overhead to run a site that can serve my friends and colleagues is very low and accessible, and I know just enough python to build a CRUD app that really can start to change the face of nursing information. I wanted to share this with you because I think that large corporations and businesses are going to have their lunches eaten by smaller makers like me who are in the trenches with the people who need the tools. It would be a big risk financially to build this site for a corp, but for me it was just a few months of side-work.