Name Generator based on 700K names

I am very new to Anvil and created my first app which is a Name Generator.

On a local Python Notebook on my computer I uploaded different csv-files with names. After cleaning the data eventually there is a DataFrame with over 700’000 names. With a function the user gets a selection of names. With Anvil uplink I connected the Python notebook to the anvil app and it works fine as long as my notebook on my computer is running. However, since I want to share this app with others I need it to work permanently.

How could I have my app running all the time so it does not depend on my local Python notebook? Would I need to create a table in Anvil with a paid plan or is there another option?

Thank you for your help!

Anvil’s free plan offers 50k rows. Besides, you get free hosting too and everything will remain live 24×7.

However, in your case, you’ll have to upgrade your plans or limit your data to 50k

1 Like

Apologies. I read the number wrong. Edited the answer.

This would not work if you need to sort or search the names, but if you need random names an ugly trick could be to create a table with one simple object column, then add 1000 rows, each with a list of 700 names.

3 Likes

Or even 26 rows, just lists containing all the same 1st letter :nerd_face:

1 Like

If we’re assuming English-only … :wink:

…just to be clear, grouping them by first letter is actually not a good way to get a randomized sample, because it will over-sample the names with the smallest first letter frequency, instead of each name having a 1 in 700000 chance to show up.

@stefano.menci 's answer is the real one if you just wanted a low number of rows and just want random names. But if you are doing this, I would have pandas create the 1000 (non overlapping) random samples to be put into the rows, and not just put them in sorted in some ordinal way.

1 Like

Many thanks for all your answers so far.