Is anvil good for starting to code with the goal of getting the MVP

What I’m trying to do:
I want to learn to do Web apps but only to do my own MVP’s to test my business ideas, once it proves I will hire a dev. I know the basics of python and understand the concepts, the only thing I need to learn is how the Web Mechanism works (in the sense of building a portal). Many years ago I 've coded in T Pascal. I do not want work a s dev I just want to create my won Apps, In most cases MVP’s. I work in finance.

What I’ve tried and what’s not working:
Talking with DEVS :slight_smile:

What worries me:
It worries me that I perceive Anvil as an awesome tool but do not see a lot of people using it

One of the draws of anvil is quickly spinning up MVPs, as well as those who only know python to make their apps and make them accessible on the web.

So if you know python, the learning curve for anvil is not steep at all – even for making the whole app yourself! The forum here is also very active and willing to help you work through problems as they arise and the documentation and tutorials anvil provides are also top notch to learn the framework.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

What you’ve described is a great fit for Anvil, and where a lot of people start using it. Anvil’s also suitable for building out the product beyond the MVP, but that’s for later in your process.

4 Likes

Thank you, guys, that is very helpful
Can you tell me what are the limitations of Anvil, so plan my journey better, e.g. say what You can do and what you can not do with Anvil?

Probably too broad of a question. There are a million things an app could need - best to figure out your requirements and ask about those specifically.

In any case, Anvil is designed to have an escape hatch whenever you run into limitations: Escape Hatches and Ejector Seats