Hi folks, I'm Anvil's new developer advocate

Hi everyone,

I recently joined Anvil as a Developer Advocate - I thought I should introduce myself properly. We may already have met if you’ve been to PyCon UK recently (if so, it’s nice to meet you again here!) I’ve given talks there on Legacy Code and a workshop on interactive fiction.

I have quite a bit of experience working on large, unwieldy legacy codebases, which I rather enjoy (I know, I’m a bit odd!) So if you have any questions about adding Anvil functionality to an existing codebase, I’m all ears. The more annoying the problem the better (only seems to work on one dedicated laptop in the lab? I’m already intrigued)

My background is in Manufacturing Engineering so I should particularly be able to help out members of the community working on industrial and healthcare related projects. I’ve worked on all sorts in the past, from 3D printing chocolate to wrangling surgical robots. I can advise on things like CE marking requirements and getting the perfect nozzle size for your desktop 3D printer. I would love to admire your Anvil robotics projects!

In my spare time I write a dev blog all about the things I wish I’d known starting out in software. I can’t wait to write for Anvil folks!

I’ll be joining the team on the Forum, writing blog posts, and at conferences (when those start up again). Looking forward to getting to know you all better!

14 Likes

Hi @hannah. Congrats on the job and welcome to the forum.

It’s just a pity we won’t see any of you in Cardiff this year but fingers crossed for 2021.

Welcome and congratulations!

Hello Hannah, and a big welcome!

Welcome Hannah and congratulations!

Hello Hannah and welcome!

Thanks for the warm welcome, everyone! :relaxed:

Hi Hannah
Congratulations on the job. Anvil looks like a great place to work, although I’m guessing it’s mostly remote at the moment.