The original post is two years old as I write. As no one else has replied, and since I thought I was running into the exact same problem yesterday perhaps this account of my foolish error will help someone.
I accidentally created two very similarly named files. One contained my correct URL and the other didn’t specify any URL. I was editing the right one but executing the wrong one from my history in another session. The result was exactly the behaviour shown above, as if the URL was being ignored! Duh.