Stuck trying to use parenting from a repeating panel

Hello everyone. I am very new to Python and Anvil as I come from a js background. Therefore, my problems are due to a lack of my own knowledge rather than anything else. I must say that Python and Anvil are a bit of a revelation to me to be honest - I am loving it so far.

Anyway, to my issue. I have set up a structure as follows:

1. I have a form called “base” that has my top and side nav on it. Within “base” I have a content-panel.

2. I have several other forms that are essentially just columns/cards ready for placement into the “base” content-panel.

3. I replace the “base” content-panel with whichever form/page I need (this is how I produce a multipage website) using things like:

def lk_dashboard_click(self, **event_args):
    self.content_panel.clear()
    self.content_panel.add_component(dashboard())
  1. One of my forms is a repeating panel that for each instance populates a button with a serial number that is pulled from data I have from a json. This serial number is read from the button and placed in a global variable so that I can get at it later, from anywhere.

2. The repeating panel lives in a simple form (for placement into the “base” content-panel). This form is called “show_all”. Therefore, the structure is that show_all is the parent and ItemTemplate1 is the child of show_all, just as it makes it when you drag the repeating_panel component into the page.

My problem: