Send csv from Anvil to Jupyter

Hello,

I am new to web development, but I trying to build a process in my app where a I can upload a csv in Anvil and send the data back to Jupyter where I can read it in as a dataframe with Pandas. I can’t quite figure out how to structure the client-, nor the server-side code and could use help.

I’ve read the tutorials and they outline a process where the data is uploaded, transfered to jupyter, a model is run, and an output is returned to the client, all in one function. However, I just want to store the data as a dataframe in jupyter.

Another route I’ve tried is storing the csv as a media object in the Anvil data table; but again, I can’t figure out how to import the file and extract it’s contents in jupyter.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi @dcw22 and welcome to the forum!

I’m assuming you’re talking about this tutorial for building a front-end on a Jupyter notebook?

Unless I’m misunderstanding what you are trying to do, you could use a FileLoader (like in the linked tutorial) to upload your csv file to Anvil. Then when a file is uploaded, call a function in your Jupyter notebook using the Uplink and pass in the uploaded csv. That function in the Jupyter notebook could then use pd.read_csv to create a pandas DataFrame from the passed in file.

I hope that helps :slight_smile:

1 Like

hmm I’ll chalk this up to me being new at this, but I’m still a bit lost.

Using the tutorial as an example, I’ve written the following code:
Client Side
def file_loader_1_change(self, file, **event_args):
anvil.server.call(‘pass_file’,file)

Server Side/Jupyter
@anvil.server.callable
def pass_file(file):
with anvil.media.TempFile(file) as filename:
data = pd.read_csv(filename)

What I’m struggling with is how to access the variable “data” without having a “file” argument in my Jupyter code.

Thanks for the help!

As a side note, when pasting code blocks to the forums, you can wrap them in three back ticks, like this:

```python