Returning a SQL table query with pymssql

Hi,

I am wondering if it’s possible to use an uplink using pymssql to return a table to use in a repeating panel or data grid components.

Above was one of my attempts to do this through an uplink. I’m sure it’s incorrect as I’m new to python and Anvil so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I then have self.repeating_panel_1.items = anvil.server.call(‘get_sql_data’) in my form code.

The idea is simple; I’d like to edit the data I get from sql on an anvil form.

I’ve tried to find documentation on the matter but most of it seems related to MySQL or does not use pymssql.

Thanks for any advice

Welcome to the Anvil community.

I use PyMySQL with great success so I’m sure that library works just as well.

Please can you tell us what is going wrong?

As a starting point, I would make sure your uplink function is actually producing a result (use print statements to display the returned data).

Next, I would make sure that data is being returned in a format required by the repeating panel as described here :

Regarding asking questions, the forum gives you a template of what information to provide when you create a topic. Filling that in as completely as you can will greatly increase the chances of someone helping you effectively.

Hi David, thanks for the tips and warm welcome.

What is going wrong is I’m trying to return a sql table to be viewed in a data grid, once I do that I want to try make that data editable.

The result is no error when I try to run the app but the data grid simply opens empty.

I’ve been able to insert into my sql table with a submit form, now I want to take the next step and access the data and possibly edit it.

During trying to insert using the uplink Anvil was great at telling me what the problem was and where, so I could format where required to get it to work. The fact this is returning no error is leaving me lost.