Pushing From Server To Client

Is there a way for the server to update the client without the client polling the server?

I’ve not thought his through particularly, but I might was some sub-1 second updates from server change to display, and have the feeling that if i had several clients attached then timer polling might be an issue.

Actually, that’s the real question - is having for example a 200ms poll running on (say) 10 (or 100) attached clients going to be an issue? I mean it works but would you guys see an issue with that?

I have 2 apps in mind - one is a system monitor showing real time calls and their progress (my day job) and the other is a multiplayer game (my evening job).

8 Likes

Not yet! We want to make sure this can be done in a scalable manner. But yes, it’s on our list :slight_smile:

For the time being, I’d suggest polling with a Timer component.

2 Likes

I’m a software engineer of 20+years, and fully web-enabled, and the lack of any effective way for the server to initiate and send data to one/all clients is what is (unfortunately) making me walk away from Anvil right now. consider me a lost paying client because of this. :slight_smile: Your entire ecosystem is based on websockets, which excel at this, and yet there’s no apparent way for me to send, or steam a sequence of send/s from an anvil-uplink ( specifically from a persistent anvil background_task in my case ). If I’m wrong, great, maybe a link to a simple example where a background_task send/s a 1Hz ‘heartbeat’ or timestamp or simething to all connected clients is the sort of thing i went looking for and failed to find… although i would be sending hundreds of small messages a second, to all clients, in my particular case.

3 Likes

Any progress on this? I could really use this.
Polling frequently from several clients is not very scalable either.