New Anvil tutorial, 150+ pages, with 200 screenshots, and 22 app examples

Hi all,

I wrote a new tutorial for Anvil, intended for absolute beginners. It’s a total of 150 pages, with more than 200 screenshots and 22 app examples. It covers the basics of coding in Python, in context, so users who’ve never written a line of code before can use Anvil to take their first steps (and get quite a way on their journey). I put the tutorial, maybe better described as a mini-course, up for free at:

https://pythonanvil.com/

I hope it’s useful for new users. Please let me know if there’s anything you’d like to see added/updated. Thank you!

• Nick Antonaccio
23 Likes

I’m excited to dig into this and learn from your experience and commentary. After a quick initial look, I’m already thinking about following this as a way to introduce my 9-year-old to coding this summer.

2 Likes

Wow, a lot of effort and a really thorough examples.

Thank you very much :slight_smile: :clap:

1 Like

The last few sections are almost certainly tiresome for a 9 year old, but hopefully the first examples may be interesting and fun enough to capture some attention. I’d be very interested to hear if it’s accessible enough for kids! Whether or not my tutorial works for your needs, I think Anvil is a fantastic tool for young beginners - hmm - maybe I should write one particularly for children! (or perhaps make a youtube video for kids…)

4 Likes

I haven’t read it yet Nick but this sounds really interesting… please feel free to nudge me on Twitter @awsom_solutions and I’ll be happy to spread the word!

PS Have you considered serialising this and posting on Medium.com?

1 Like

I haven’t ever published on Medium, but I will take a look at how their process works. I also don’t use Twitter, but an interest in sharing Anvil does motivate me to respond there. Shedding my 1990s mentality is probably due :wink:

4 Likes

If you can also stretch to Reddit, this would be a great fit for the Anvil subreddit!