Load JSON data from table media column

Hi,

I’m fairly new to Python and I’m trying to convert a working class and script I already have to work in Anvil. I’ve run into two challenges that I think should be straightforward but haven’t found a good solution:

1. I have one file with a couple classes where one opens a JSON file on my file system and loads the JSON data into a class dict variable and a second class that does some custom processing. A separate script file instantiates the classes and initializes them with the desired input file and calls the subsequent class functions to process the json into another set of dicts/lists for output.

I haven’t been able to figure out how to create a server module for the class and instantiate it in a separate server module, so I ended up combining into a single server module. Is there any documentation for best approach to doing this in Anvil?

1. Now that I have the classes and scripts together in one server module, I’m trying to load the data into my class from a media type in a table as an equivalent of:

def LoadData(self):
** with open(self.file_obj, encoding=‘latin1’) as ds_file:**
** self.ds_raw_data = json.load(ds_file)**

I’ve tried various approaches unsuccessfully, including:

self.file_obj = app_tables.userfile.get(id=file_id)['datafile']
self.file_obj_data = self.file_obj.get_bytes()
self.my_json_data = json.loads(self.file_obj_data, encoding='latin1')

With the above, I get: TypeError: ‘NoneType’ object is not iterable

Other varied errors along the way:
TypeError: expected str, bytes or os.PathLike object, not LazyMedia
and with other variations at a later step: ‘LazyMedia’ object is not iterable

What is the best way to load from a media type into a dict? I’m guessing there is some additional decoding or deserialization missing.

Thanks!

Creating two server modules and importing one from the other should work without problems. What error message are you getting?