How do event handlers work

Heya!
So firstly I apologize if I’m asking something quite obvious, but admittedly I am still learning coding and Python, and this is the first major project I’ve embarked on.

Currently, I’m trying to build a search function for a database. After querying data tables, I receive a series of values, which I then create into a list of links. Clicking on this link should take me to a separate form(the editing form) where I can then change some stuff around.

In order to this, I want to pass a value when each link is clicked, to a function that will then open up the editing form.

What I have right now, is something like this:

def open_editor(some_id, **event_args):
      anvil.server.call("store_id", some_id)
      open_form('edit_patient_data')
      return

# Further down the line

a = Link(text="SomeText")
a.set_event_handler('click', open_editor(some_id))

So this works… Somewhat? It works in that the appropriate data is stored, but fires immediately. I’m also completely confused on what **event_args is. I don’t understand what it is, except that it seems to be some kind of catch-all for a variety of back-end arguments? Either way, it seems to be something I have to include, or face the wrath of numerous error messages.

I found one other topic relating to this, but I genuinely couldn’t understand what was going on there, so I was hoping that someone more experienced could possibly tell me what I’m doing wrong. Either way, thanks in advance :))

Hello @pranavgn and welcome to the Anvil community.

With Anvil this result can be achieved in a few different ways. From what I can tell you are approaching this from a programmatic standpoint. The beauty of Anvil is that you can build things visually in a very quick and easy fashion.