Faster Storage migration - delete old tables?

Also, let’s say we’re happy with the new faster storage, cloned all tables etc… How can we delete the “old slow” Default Database? I want to clean up and not waste my storage, but there’s no delete option on the Default DB like we have on the other DBs.
image

Hi @Neeeco,

You’re right, you can’t delete the Default Database entirely - but you can delete the individual tables from them! That will free you right up.

To state the obvious, take care doing that - make sure you’re deleting the right tables, and that you don’t need the old data any more :face_with_peeking_eye:

A little wrinkle about your account specifically, as you have Extra Server Resources: If you’re working in an account with ESR and you delete Legacy Storage tables with a lot of data, you’ll see your disk usage hasn’t dropped. This is because Postgres still holds onto the disk space - and with no other Legacy Storage users on that database to use it, that space is now wasted. To reclaim it, you can drop us a line at support@anvil.works and we’ll do a manual compaction to free it up. This doesn’t affect regular users, because regular users are in shared databases that recycle that disk space anyway.

1 Like

Is the plan to eventually be able to delete the Default DB or is wired into the system for all eternity? :smiley:
No effort to delete the tables or at least the content of it though, and when we’ve done that we’ll drop a line to reclaim some of the space. Thanks!