Design vs Code (e.g. components, instances, etc)

Hello, I am new to Anvil and I have a question that may have an obvious answer (apologies if it does!)
When I select and drag components to the form in the Design view and I then switch to the code view, I was expecting to see the component methods and properties appear in my code view, but they don’t … where does the component code go?
Also, in code view, I see a Form class defined, but I don’t see the class instantiated…
am I missing something?
Thanks!
Rui

Hi Rui,

You should be able to find the component styling in the theme.css. If you want to add some styles use roles:

.anvil-role-newrole {
# properties;
}

Then in roles (where the colour pallette lives) add your role by its name, e.g. newrole and you can apply using the role dropdown in your design view wheb you have a component selected.

Then, when you want to add an event to a component it’s at the bottom of the properties panel.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!

When you add a component to a form, you get access to an instance of the component (maybe more than one if you added multiple buttons, for example). But the actual code for the components is in another class.

To use the components, you access their methods using e.g. self.button_1.methodname()

Classes get instantiated when you call open_form to open a particular form (or by default, the startup form gets instantiated automatically).

You might want to go through some of the tutorials, which cover these sorts of topics: Anvil | Tutorials

A description of each instance, including IDE-settable properties, is written into a hierarchical .yaml file. This file exists behind the scenes, and is used by the IDE to render the form in the Design view.

At run-time, Anvil reads this description to generate a base class (…Template) for the entire Form. You can see this base class referenced near the top of your Form’s Python code.