Converting Anvil App to Production Level

Hello!

We’re a small company that uses Anvil apps for a lot of our internal tools. Some internal tools are going to be publicly launched as a new SaaS venture, very niche. I am not a programmer by any profession, but have coded all the apps and maintain them myself currently.

I am confident I don’t know enough to actually make a publicly available app and have been going through cost analysis and best routes to make this. I can’t find any “proper” custom UI apps publically available that seem to be built on Anvil, only demos for the most part.

My logic for saving the most cost and doing the most with what I know, it to create the platform I’m looking to make in Anvil the best I can, and then having it “converted” to a Flask/python or potentially Vue frontend/backend by a freelancer to get something going.

Has anyone had experience doing the same type of deal and/or can guide me in a better direction? As we have the working models (internally being used for some time now, they are rough in visuals but very functional) we’re trying to save as much reasonable costs as possible by having a working model to “convert” rather than develop from scratch for the potential dev.

1 Like

While there are a lot of commercial demos using Anvil, there are also a number of companies who have made and are making commercial products with Anvil. If you’re curious about some of them, I would highly recommend having a listen to some of Anvil’s podcast episodes.

1 Like

You can use your apps as proof of concept for the production app whether the production app is built in flask or Anvil.

I would build it in Anvil. If you need to pay someone to do it for you, at the end you have an Anvil app and you can do most of the maintenance by yourself.

If I understand, you already have experience building Anvil apps, but your apps don’t look professional and may not be reliable enough.