Best practice for multi organisation apps

I am enjoying anvil and we have been using it at our company to solve a bunch of issues and its perfect for that as allows us to make web apps for most things.

However I have an idea to take one of our apps and start offering it to external organisations based on some comments we have received from clients. So being a fairly noob developer I would like to know the best way to go about this.

The app would have multiple organisation accounts, each with their own users (and permissions/roles for each user)

Basically to me, it seems that its not a great idea to have a single DB for multiple organisations, (should one of us make a dumb code chance it could expose data to everyone). But at the same time having to manage several of the same anvil app (even if it uses components) is also not ideal in the long run.

Would the best approach to build in some logic to use anvil datatables for user authentication/permissions etc… but link to an external database for each organisation (such as postgresSQL or mongoDB etc…)

I am still fairly new to anvil and was just thinking about some possibilities about the best way to approach this issue and if anyone has had any experience handling cases like this. Or is anvil not really well suited towards problems like this? As ideally it would be nice to handle everything within Anvil.

Hi @alex01 – it’s great to see your apps’ usage is expanding, and getting interest from external customers!

When you’re creating big “multi-tenant” apps like this, there are two major approaches, and you’ve touched on them both:

1. All in one big database